Transfessional Resonance of Ancient Greek Healing Practices in Modern Medical Culture
Tulupova Olga
DOI: 10.17212/2075-0862-2019-11.3.2-412-429
Annotation:

The article considers the specifics of medical culture: medical culture as a part of the general culture of a society and professional culture. The present research defines the essence of the social process of medicalization. The paper highlights the idea that medicine in the ancient period (considered on the example of the practices of Ancient Greece) medicalizes culture in general and can be considered as historical and cultural prerequisites that laid the foundation for transfessionalism of a modern doctor. Nowadays, medical industry becomes the space of transfer, where knowledge of the computer and other information technologies, as well as knowledge of managing, teaching, social work, philosophy, etc., are necessary for a professional in this field. The center of transfessional activity is the doctor’s focusing on a patient's personality, and not just on the disease and its symptoms. A doctor has to become a competent guide for a patient, and not a custodian of unique, inaccessible knowledge. Transfessional transformations define the modern basic principles of healing, originated in Ancient Greece. They still remain strong in the modern medicalized world. Today the Ancient Greek medical culture resonates as prolongation of medical transfessionalism.

Specifics of Nursing Care in the Russian Orthodox Tradition: Phenomenological Analysis
Sinyukova Natalia
DOI: 10.17212/2075-0862-2019-11.3.2-430-442
Annotation:

The topics of numerous discussions nowadays are economic, social, cultural, psychological, ethical, existential problems of medical treatment. Modern society realized that it is almost impossible to solve a range of problems of the domain of medicine and medical care alone through scientific and technological achievements. Consequently such questions have to be answered: how should medical help and care be provided? Why does clinical practice provide “high-tech” medical care? And why does it fail to provide the “humane” care, which patients need so much? How can a patient resist such negative aspects of illness experience, as objectification and technologization, being in contact with medical discourse? Russian Orthodoxy has accumulated a rich and unique experience in caring for ill people. The study of this experience and its practical application are nowadays in the focus of attention of many foreign experts. Unfortunately, in our country, this problem remains somewhat undervalued among researchers, and the specificity of medical care according to orthodox tradition is forgotten in most of modern hospitals. In the humanistic model of medicine, the healing process is considered as scientifically grounded and individualizing care for patients, including the sensual-emotional and moral-existential sphere of intersubjective relations between the patient and medical specialists. It is not only about the “healing” of the patient at the biological level, but also about the internal “healing” of each patient, relief from suffering, which is grounded on the uniqueness of his/her own situation. The ideal of the humanistic model of medicine reflects the attitude: “medicine must treat the patient, not the disease.” At the same time, the interpretation of this aim differs significantly within the framework of Western and Eastern Christian cultures, in this case Russian Orthodoxy. The individualization of medical care in the Russian Orthodox tradition is not connected with the recognition of the patient as a sovereign individuality, as is the case in Western Christian cultures, but in the spiritual unity of the sufferer and caregiver, determining the harmonious relationship of a person as a part with the Wholeness. The spiritual unity of the sufferer and the caregiver, unfolding as mutual love, creates the potential for joint and conciliar overcoming of suffering through spiritual perfection. Orthodox “technologies” of spiritual healing of patients are characterized by the lack of rationalization, unification, and, as a result, commercialization.

A Candid Conversation with the Feisty Radical Organizer. Playboy Interview with Saul Alinsky. Part II
DOI: 10.17212/2075-0862-2018-4.1-78-104
Annotation:

This is а translation of the interview with Saul Alinsky published in Playboy in 1972 and reprinted by the New England Review May 27, 2018.  American professional social organizer, he unilaterally created  the new field of social engineering and the new profession of radical-organizer. His two books became handbooks for several generations of organizers. Magazine Playboy sent Eric Norden to interview him. “I accompanied him from the East Coast to the West and into Canada, snatching tape sessions on planes, in cars and at airport…”

Трансфессиональный резонанс древнегреческих практик врачевания в современной медицинской культуре
Тулупова О.Н.
DOI: 10.17212/2075-0862-2019-11.3.2-412-429
УДК: 316.722: 61
Аннотация:

В статье рассматривается специфика медицинской культуры как части общей культуры общества и профессиональной культуры. Определяется сущность социального процесса медикализации. Высказывается идея о том, что медицина в античный период (рассмотренный через практики Древней Греции), медикализируя культуру в целом, может быть рассмотрена в качестве историко-культурной предпосылки, заложившей основания для трансфессионализма современного врача. В настоящее время медицинская отрасль действительно становится пространством трансфессии, когда профессионалу в этой сфере оказываются необходимы, знания менеджера, педагога, социального работника, философа, знания по обслуживанию компьютерной и другой информационной техники и пр. В центре трансфессиональной деятельности – фокусировка врача на личности пациента, а не только на болезни и ее симптоматике. Врач для больного – это компетентный проводник, а не хранитель уникальных, недоступных знаний. Трансфессиональные трансформации позволяют сделать вывод о том, что в современном медикализированном мире остаются сильны базовые принципы врачевания, зародившиеся еще на заре становления медицины в Древней Греции, когда изначально были заложены трансфессиональные установки. Резонанс древнегреческой медицинской культуры сказывается как пролонгация медицинского трансфессионализма сегодня.

Специфика ухода за больными в русской православной традиции: феноменологический анализ
Синюкова Н.А.
DOI: 10.17212/2075-0862-2019-11.3.2-430-442
УДК: 17.02:111.8
Аннотация:

Сегодня широко обсуждаются экономические, социальные, культурные, психологические, этические, экзистенциальные проблемы лечебного процесса. Общество осознало, что решение всего комплекса проблем медицины посредством одних только научно-технологических достижений невозможно. Возникли вопросы: «Какими должны быть оказание медицинской помощи и уход за больными?», «Почему клиническая практика обеспечивает «высокотехнологичный» уход за пациентом и не может обеспечить «человечный», в котором так нуждаются больные?», «Как больному противостоять таким негативным составляющим переживания болезни, как обьективизация и технологизация, находясь в контакте с медицинским дискурсом?». В русском Православии накоплен богатый и своеобразный опыт ухода за больными. Его изучение и использование на практике оправданно находится в фокусе внимания многих иностранных специалистов. К сожалению, в нашей стране данная проблематика среди исследователей остается недооцененной, а ее специфика в современных больницах – забытой. В современной гуманистической модели медицины лечебный процесс рассматривается как научно обоснованный и индивидуализирующий уход за больными, включающий чувственно-эмоциональную и нравственно-экзистенциальную сферу интерсубьективных взаимоотношений больного и медицинских специалистов. Речь идет не только об «излечении» пациента на биологическом уровне, но и о внутреннем «исцелении» каждого больного, избавлении от страданий, исходя из уникальности его ситуации. Идеал гуманистической модели отражает установка: «медицина должна лечить больного, а не болезнь». При этом интерпретация данной установки существенно различается в рамках западной и восточной христианских культур, в данном случае русского Православия. Индивидуализация ухода в русской православной традиции проявляется не в признании больного в качестве суверенной индивидуальности, как это происходит в западных христианских культурах, но в духовном единении страдающего и ухаживающего, определяющем гармоничное взаимоотношение человека как части со Всецелым. Духовное единство страдающего и ухаживающего, разворачивающееся как взаимная любовь, формирует потенциал для совместного и соборного преодоления страданий через духовное совершенствование. Православные «технологии» духовного исцеления больных отличаются отсутствием рационализации, унификации, а в итоге и коммерциализации.

«Внутри среднего класса Америки зреет вторая революция». Интервью с профессиональным мятежником Солом Алинским. Часть 2.
DOI: 10.17212/2075-0862-2018-4.1-78-104
УДК: 323.23; 329.7
Аннотация:

Американский социотехник Сол Алинский (1909-1972) получил известность в США и за их пределами как идеолог, практик, тренер и создатель профессии по соорганизации людей для совместных действий. У него тысячи учеников и последователей, включая бывшего американского президента Барака Обаму и членов его администрации. Технология соорганизации Алинского применяется сейчас политическими лидерами практически всех идеологических ориентаций. Книги Алинского стали настольными для людей этой новой профессии, однако они до сих пор не известны в России. Публикуемый материал – перевод интервью с Алинским, взятым журналом Playboy в 1972 г., после того, как его книга «Правила для радикалов» стала бестселлером номер один.  Корреспондент Эрик Норден расспрашивает Алинского об истории социальных экспериментов, основных правилах и техниках соорганизации людей, о профессиональных планах Алинского на ближайшее будущее. Интервью было опубликовано в мартовском номере журнала Playboy за 1972 г. и перепечатано в полном объеме в New England Review в мае 2018 г.