Wise Senior Friend Vladimir Shlapentokh
Khanin Grigory
DOI: 10.17212/2075-0862-2019-11.1.2-437-451
Annotation:

The author tells about his acquaintance with an outstanding Soviet, and later American economist, sociologist V. E. Shlapentokh. The paper also describes his work in scientific institutes of Novosibirsk Academgorodok, as well as his political and economic views. The author draws attention to the estimates given by V. E. Shlapentokh to prominent Novosibirsk economists and sociologists of the 1960s, his attitude to political events in Russia and in the world. The paper analyzes the attitude of Shlapentokh to the political process of Sinyavsky-Daniel and to the case of signing the “protest letter” by scientists of Academgorodok. The author gives evaluations to his books: “Sociology for All”, “Fear and Friendship in Our Totalitarian Past”, “A Normal Totalitarian Society”, “Contemporary Russia as a Feudal Society: A New Perspective on the Post-Soviet Era.” The author describes the attitude of Shlapentokh to Jewry and Judaism. And he also recollects his meetings and conversations with V. E. Shlapentokh after his moving to Moscow, and then to the USA.

THE YEARS OF POLITICAL AND ECONOMIC STABILIZATION AND THE BEGINNING OF A NEW CRISIS (2002-2015)
Khanin Grigory
DOI: 10.17212/2075-0862-2017-2.1-147-161
Annotation:

The article is devoted to the author’s teaching and research activities in 2002-2015. The author was teaching simultaneously at Novosibirsk State Technical University (NSTU) and the Siberian Academy for Public Administration (SAPA, now – the Siberian Institute of Management – the branch of RANEPA). The most effective teaching took place at NSTU, due to better preparation and motivation of students. Unfortunately, the most gifted students didn’t actualize themselves in science because of low prestige of science in Russia. It was less interesting for him to teach at SAPA because students and postgraduates were less interested and less prepared. At that time he started reading a new course "National Economy". Developing the course helped him understand better the basic features of economic development of Russia, at least since the 18th century: economy development went by jerks. He found the explanation of the Russian historical process and it stimulated his research activities. He focused his scientific work on "The Economic History of Russia in Modern Times." In the given article the author reveals the problems, which appeared while writing the first volume as well as the problems of the Soviet economic system since the early 60's until the collapse of the Soviet system in the early 90s. The author stresses the fact of his acquaintance and subsequent cooperation with the economist Dmitry Aleksandrovich Fomin. Many articles based on precise calculations were written with him. On the basis of these studies, he concluded that the recovery growth of the Russian economy would prolong to 2007, the process similar to the NEP. He also predicted that such a growth should result in stagnation and decline in GDP with the exhaustion of available resources and the absence of real modernization and the lack of human capital. The forecast of the author came true in many respects: the cessation of economic growth in 2008, and the world oil prices in 2015.

THE FIRST POST-CRISIS YEARS (1998-2001)
Khanin Grigory
DOI: 10.17212/2075-0862-2016-2.1-152-166
Annotation:

Scientific and pedagogical activities during the period of 1998-2001 are considered in the article. The author describes the work of the Siberian Transport University (STU) of that time as well as students and lecturers of the Economic Theory Department and the World Economy Department and he also recollects his work with postgraduate students. The author spells out the most significant conclusions he made while writing his book “The Economic History of Russia in Modern Times”, its gaps and inaccuracies. An important place is given to the content of the discussion at the Russian-American conference on the economic history of the Soviet Union in Zvenigorod in the summer of 2000 as well as the description of its participants. The author speculates upon the reasons for his resignation from the Siberian Transport University (STU).

Мудрый старший товарищ Владимир Шляпентох
Ханин Г.И.
DOI: 10.17212/2075-0862-2019-11.1.2-437-451
УДК: 330.8
Аннотация:

В статье рассказывается о моем знакомстве с выдающимся советским, а позднее американским экономистом, социологом Владимиром Эммануиловичем Шляпентохом. Описывается его работа в научных институтах новосибирского Академгородка, его политические и экономические взгляды. Приведены оценки, данные Шляпентохом видным новосибирским экономистам и социологам 1960-х гг., его отношение к политическим событиям в нашей стране и в мире. Анализируется отношение Шляпентоха к политическому процессу Синявского-Даниэля и к истории с подписанием учеными Академгородка «письма протеста». Оцениваются его книги: «Социология для всех», «Страх и дружба в нашем тоталитарном прошлом», «Нормальное тоталитарное общество», «Современная Россия как феодальное общество. Новый ракурс постсоветской эры». Описывается отношение Шляпентоха к еврейству и иудаизму. Рассказывается о моих встречах и разговорах с Владимиром Эммануиловичем после переезда его в Москву, а затем США.

ГОДЫ ПОЛИТИЧЕСКОЙ И ЭКОНОМИЧЕСКОЙ СТАБИЛИЗАЦИИ И НАЧАЛА НОВОГО КРИЗИСА (2002-2015 гг.)
Ханин Г.И.
DOI: 10.17212/2075-0862-2017-2.1-147-161
УДК: 330.8
Аннотация:

Освещается моя преподавательская и научная деятельность в 2002-2015 гг. Преподавание велось одновременно в двух вузах Новосибирска – в Новосибирском государственном техническом университете (НГТУ) и в СИБАГСе (теперь Сибирский институт управления – филиал Российской академии народного хозяйства и государственной службы при Президенте Российской Федерации). Наиболее плодотворно проходило преподавание в НГТУ, благодаря лучшей подготовке и мотивированности студентов. К сожалению, из-за низкого престижа науки в России  мои самые способные студенты не реализовали себя в науке. Преподавательская работа в СИБАГСе была менее интересной и удачной из-за плохой подготовки и низкого интереса к предмету у студентов и аспирантов. Новым для меня был курс «Национальная экономика». Работа над этим курсом натолкнула меня на понимание основной особенности экономического развития России как минимум c XVIII века. Это развитие рывками:  застой–рывок, снова застой – и новый рывок. Найденное объяснение российского исторического процесса очень стимулировало мои научные исследования. В научной работе главное место заняла «Экономическая история России в новейшее время». В данной статье уделяется внимание как наиболее трудным проблемам, возникшим при написании первого тома, так и анализу проблем советской экономической системы с начала 60-х до развала советской системы в начале 90-х. Очень важное для меня событие этого периода – знакомство и последующая совместная работа с экономистом Дмитрием Александровичем Фоминым. С ним написано много статей, основанных на расчетах, которые также рассматриваются в этой части воспоминаний. На основе в том числе и этих исследований мной был сделан вывод о восстановительном росте экономики России до 2007 г., аналогичном росту при нэпе. Такой рост должен закачиваться стагнацией и падением ВВП при исчерпании имеющихся ресурсов и при отсутствии реальной модернизации и роста человеческого капитала. Легко убедиться, что мой прогноз полностью подтвердился и в части прекращения экономического роста уже в 2008 году, и в части падения мировых цен на нефть в 2015 году.

В ПЕРВЫЕ ПОСЛЕКРИЗИСНЫЕ ГОДЫ (1998-2001)
Ханин Г.И.
DOI: 10.17212/2075-0862-2016-2.1-152-166
УДК: 330.8
Аннотация:

Рассказывается о научной и педагогической деятельности в 1998-2001 годы. Дается характеристика СГУПС, студентов и преподавателей кафедр «экономическая теория» и «мировая экономика», моего руководства аспирантами. Подробно рассказывается о наиболее важных выводах  первой части моей книги «Экономическая история России в новейшее время», допущенных в ней пробелах и неточностях. Важное место уделяется содержанию дискуссии на российско-американской конференции по истории советской экономики в Звенигороде летом 2000 года, дается характеристика ее участникам. Объясняются причины моего ухода из СГУПС.